New York Climate Week: Build Back Greener

When: 22 September 2020

Where: Online

This event is part of Climate Week NYC 2020. The event will be live streamed.

Build Back Greener – Principles for Kickstarting the Sustainable Transition through Partnerships, is a unique transatlantic event, which aims to create a platform for the discussions around a green economic recovery and the impact and nature of the private and public sectors’ commitments to the sustainable transition in the shadow of Covid-19. Instead of simply reinventing an outdated economic model, countries, cities, and companies must look towards green recovery strategies to create sustainable growth that is beneficial for the climate, the economy, and our health.

This year, New York State Energy Research and Development Authority (NYSERDA), Danish Cleantech Hub, State of Green, and the Confederation of Danish Industry invite participants to rethink partnerships as a platform to learn and share insight with the purpose of accelerating the green growth and transition.

Watch on demand

Organisers

Confederation of Danish Industry

Programme

Moderator:  Connie Hedegaard, Chairman of CONCITO and former European Commissioner for Climate Action, and former Danish Minister for Energy and Climate

3:00 PM CEST / 9:00 AM EST: Kickstarting sustainability on the back of a crisis
Dan Jørgensen, Minister of Climate and Energy and Public Utilities
Kathy Hochul, Lieutenant Governor, New York State

3:10 PM CEST / 9:10 AM EST:  Fireside chat I: Partnerships as a way to Combatting Climate Change
Kristoffer Böttzauw, Director General, Danish Energy Agency
Ali Zaidi, Deputy Secretary to Governor Cuomo & Chairman of Climate Policy and Finance
Thomas Bustrup, COO, Confederation of Danish Industry

3:30 PM CEST / 9:30 AM EST: Fireside chat II: Partnerships as a way to support innovation, growth and job creation
Jens Birgersson, CEO and President, ROCKWOOL International
Doreen Harris, Acting President and CEO, NYSERDA

3:45 PM CEST / 9:45 AM EST: Fireside chat III: Partnerships as a way to spur investments in sustainability
Allan Polack, Group CEO, PFA
Alfred Griffin, President, NY Green Bank

4:00 PM CEST / 10:00 AM EST: Thank you and closing remarks
Finn Mortensen, Executive Director, State of Green

Speakers

Connie Hedegaard

Chairman of CONCITO and former European Commissioner for Climate Action, and former Danish Minister for Energy and Climate

Kathy Hochul

Lieutenant Governor, New York State

Minister Dan Jørgensen

Minister of Climate, Energy and Utilities

Ali A. Zaidi

Deputy Secretary for Energy and Environment and Chairman of Climate Policy and Finance, Office of Governor Andrew M. Cuomo

Thomas Bustrup

COO, Confederation of Danish Industry

Kristoffer Böttzauw

Kristoffer Böttzauw

Doreen M. Harris

Acting President and CEO, NYSERDA

Jens Birgersson

CEO, ROCKWOOL International

Alfred Griffin

President, NY Green Bank

Allan Polack

Group CEO, PFA Pension

Finn Mortensen

Director, State of Green

Looking for our logo?

Find it in the State of Green Toolbox together with loads of materials to help you promote Denmark’s green solutions abroad.
Visit toolbox