Skip to content


Climate change adaptation

Smart cities

Smart energy systems


Aalborg Commitments

5. July 2016

Solution provider

City of Aalborg
More from City of Aalborg

Want to see this solution first hand?

Add the case to your visit request and let us know that you are interested in visiting Denmark

Request Visit

The Aalborg Commitments were established in 2004, 10 years after the Aalborg Charter, and is a declaration signed by over 700 cities and towns showing their commitment to a sustainable future. The Commitments were endorsed at the 4th European Conference on Sustainable Cities & Towns again held in Aalborg (2004). The purpose of the event was to develop a common understanding of sustainability, and to develop a framework to be used at the local level that would better articulate how to embed sustainability across sectors.

Where as the Charter was declaratory, the Commitments signify a more structured and ambitious approach. At the same time, the holistic nature of the Commitments allows decision-makers to adapt them to meet their own local conditions. The commitments encompass a list of qualitative objectives organised into 10 themes:

  1. Governance
  2. Local management towards sustainability
  3. Natural commons goods
  4. Responsible consumption and lifestyle choices
  5. Planning and design
  6. Better mobility, less traffic
  7. Local action for health
  8. Vibrant and sustainable local economy
  9. Social equity and justice
  10. Local to global

The Aalborg Commitments were agreed on by consensus of the conference participants, including organisations such as Association of Cities and Regions for Recycling (ACRR), Climate Alliance -Klima-Bündnis -Alianza del Climae.V, Council of European Municipalities & Regions (CEMR), Energie Cités, EUROCITIES, ICLEI - Local Governments for Sustainability, Medcities, Union of Baltic Cities (UBC) and the World Health Organisation (WHO) - Healthy Cities.