GREEN INSIGHTS

Decarbonising the food & beverage industry

When: 16 March 2021 08.30-9.30 AM PST / 16.30-17.30 PM CET

Where: Online

Join this high-level GREEN INSIGHTS , where California and Denmark will share knowledge, solutions and challenges to decarbonise the food and beverage industry. How can the industry reduce costs and their carbon footprint at the same time?

Register for the event here

16 March 2021 08.30-9.30 AM PST / 16.30-17.30 PM CET

Thank you for registering to the event.
Please check your e-mail for a confirmation.
Remember to check your spam folder.

Global food production accounts for 24 percent of the world’s CO2 emissions according to the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change. Projections from the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, FAO, indicate that by 2050, a 70% increase in current food production will be necessary to meet the expanding demand for food and therefore the food production sector is facing a significant challenge to reduce its carbon footprint and find new ways to produce more food and beverages with fewer resources like water and energy. New approaches and methods are needed to ensure that food production leaves a smaller climate footprint.

An energy efficient food and beverage industry is not only important due to climate. The internal and external pressures on the food and beverage industry to reduce prices and marginal costs, makes efficiency measures a competitive advantage. In Denmark, the food sector’s energy consumption fell from 1973 to 2017 by almost 32 per cent. In the same period the production value increased by 60 per cent showing how we can produce more with less.

The food and beverage industry in California is enormous, as the state counts the most food and beverage manufacturing plants of any US state (5,731 as of 2017), far ahead of New York (2,573) and Texas (2,273). The Californian dairy and dairy processing industry alone contributed $20 billion to the state economy and supported 179,900 jobs. California’s cap-and-trade carbon emissions trading scheme and high energy prices, with electricity being 80% more expensive per kWh than US average, create an obvious incentive to reduce overall energy consumption through energy efficiency measures and on-site energy recovery.

This high-level event, stakeholders from California and Denmark will discuss how to decarbonize the all-important, but energy-intensive, food and beverage industry and how to simultaneously reduce cost and carbon footprint at the same time.

Organisers

Danish Energy Agency
Consulate_Silicon Valley
Confederation of Danish Industry
Danish Agriculture and Food Council

Programme

8.30 PST/16.30 CET Welcome and introduction
Moderator, Finn Mortensen

8.35 PST/16.35 CET Opening remarks
Kristoffer Böttzauw, Director, Danish Energy Agency

8.40 PST/16.40 CET Opening remarks
Commissioner Andrew McAllister, Californian Energy Commission (TBC)

8.45 PST/16.45 CET How to decarbonize one of the world’s largest dairy processing companies?
Kristian Eriknaur, Vice President, Corporate Responsibility at Arla Foods

9.00 PST/17.00 CET Fireside chat – innovative and sustainable solutions that reduce the carbon footprint of F&B companies and how to effectively deploy them
Greg Wikler, Director, California Efficiency and Demand Council, Finn Lyngsie, Dep. Division Manager, GEA, UC Davis, Grundfos (TBC)

9.25 PST/17.25 CET Closing remarks 

Speakers

Finn Mortensen

CEO, State of Green

Kristoffer Böttzauw

Director, Danish Energy Agency

Commissioner Andrew McAllister

Californian Energy Commission

Greg Wikler

Director, California Efficiency and Demand Council

Kristin Eriknaur

Kristian Eriknauer

Vice President, Corporate Responsibility, Arla Foods

Looking for our logo?

Find it in the State of Green Toolbox together with loads of materials to help you promote Denmark’s green solutions abroad.
Visit toolbox