GREEN TALKS

Beyond Buildings – Future Sustainable Cities for Citizens

When: 30 October 2020 - This event has taken place. WATCH IT ON DEMAND BELOW.

Where: Virtual Event

As part of Archtober in NYC, Creative Denmark, Danish Cleantech Hub and State of Green, gather Danish and American public and private experts to celebrate the launch of the new ‘Beyond Buildings’ white paper and to discuss how we create future sustainable cities for citizens.

As urbanisation continues to accelerate globally, the demand for cities and buildings that can enable better health and well-being for their inhabitants rises. Holistic, cross-sectoral partnerships and new technologies are needed to create buildings that enable people to thrive, both individually and as communities. Therefore, the new Creative Denmark white paper ‘Beyond Buildings’ illustrates frameworks for holistic project planning that goes beyond a single building and the use of smart technologies to address the question of how to create buildings and spaces in between buildings that can improve health and overall quality of life for the many and not only the few.

When developing our cities, developing new buildings or reinventing existing ones, sustainability must be a mandatory principle, as we develop cities and homes for citizens. Citizens’ well-being and life-quality must be the starting point for all actions made as we transition towards a greener urban future.

 

Watch the webinar on demand

Programme

Moderator: Majken Kalhave, Executive Director, Creative Denmark
3.00 PM CET/10.00 AM EST Welcome and opening remarks
By Simon Kollerup, Minister for Industry, Business and Financial Affairs
3.05 PM CET/10.05 AM EST New York working on future green buildings
By Janet Joseph, Senior Vice President for Strategy and Market Development, NYSERDA
3.10 PM CET/10.10 AM EST Livable Cities of the Future – Rethink Cities, communities and sustainability
By Kim Rahbek, Chairman Business Lolland-Falster
3.15 PM CET/10.15 AM EST Solution pitches: Sustainable solutions as a driver for increased life quality
Anthony Abbotts, Director Group Sustainability, ROCKWOOL International
Karen Roiy, Director of Global Industry Affairs at Danfoss
Anders Strange, Founding Partner and CCO, AART Architects
Trent Lethco, Principal and Americas Planning Business Leader, Arup
3.40 PM CET/10.35 AM EST Curated panel discussion: Creating Sustainable Cities for Citizens in the shadow of Covid-19 With
Neel Strøbæk, Senior Group Director, Ramboll
Jeff Risom, Chief Innovation Officer, Gehl Architects
Stephen Willacy , Chief City Architect, Aarhus City Council
4.00 PM CET/11.00 AM EST Closing remarks Finn Mortensen, Executive Director, State of Green

Speakers

Majken Kalhave

Executive Director, Creative Denmark

Simon Kollerup

Minister of Industry, Business and Financial Affairs

Janet Joseph

Senior Vice President for Strategy and Market Development, NYSERDA

Kim Rahbek

Chairman, Business Lolland-Falster

Anthony Abbotts

Director Group Sustainability, ROCKWOOL International

Karen Roiy

Director of Global Industry Affairs, Danfoss

Anders Strange

Founding partner - CCO, AART architects

Trent Lethco

Principal and Americas Planning Business Leader, Arup

Neel Strøbæk

Senior Group Director, Sustainability & CR, Ramboll

Jeff Risom

Chief Innovation Officer, Gehl Architects

Stephen Willacy

Chief City Architect, Aarhus City Council

Finn Mortensen

Executive Director, State of Green

Looking for our logo?

Find it in the State of Green Toolbox together with loads of materials to help you promote Denmark’s green solutions abroad.
Visit toolbox